Sign In

Award Categories

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

Photo of medalsInitially the System included:

  • The Order of Australia,
  • The Australian Bravery Decorations, and
  • The National Medal.

Since 1975 successive Governments have expanded the system.

There are many different types of awards. Some like the Order of Australia and Bravery Decorations are well known.

The awards can be grouped into distinct categories:

General Community

  • Order of Australia

Civilian awards - Occupation Related

  • Public Service Medal
  • Australian Police Medal
  • Australian Fire Service Medal
  • Australian Antarctic Medal
  • Police Overseas Service Medal
  • Civilian Service Medal
  • National Medal

Defence Awards

  • Gallantry
  • Distinguished Service
  • Conspicuous Service
  • Nursing Service Cross
  • Campaign Medals
  • Unit Citations
  • Long Service Awards
  • Champion Shots Medal


Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.