Sign In

Honours System

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

Order of Australia MedalThe Australian Honours System is about recognising those Australians who give their time, their energy and their expertise without consideration of payment, of honours or of recognition.

The recipients come from all walks of life and the awards are made for a diverse range of achievements.

Among those people awarded honours in 2001 were:

Mrs Audrey Crommelin OAM and Mr Terence Crommelin OAM
Who were involved in the establishment of an independent school for deaf children in Perth in 1967, to offer an alternative method, "oral communication", not previously available in Western Australia.

Mr John Roulston OAM
Who pioneered the use of aircraft in the early 1960s to muster livestock in the Gascoyne and Murchison and Kimberley regions of Western Australia.

Mrs Freda Draper OAM
Who was a volunteer member since 1987 of the Perth Branch of the Carer’s Association of WA, and founder of the Rockingham Carer Respite Unit that consists of volunteers who provide respite, transport and other home help in the Rockingham area.

Mr Paul Barnett OAM
Who won a gold medal at the Sydney 2000 Paralympic Games in the Men’s 100m Breaststroke – SB9.

Mrs Lorna Hudson OAM
Who is actively involved in the Derby community. Through the promotion of "smokeless stoves" and other simple aids worked for the improvement of health programs and cooking conditions for Aboriginal women in remote areas of the Kimberley.


Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.