Sign In

Commonwealth of Australia Constitution

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

A constitution is a set of rules by which a country or state is governed.

The Australian Constitution was created by a British Act called the Commonwealth of Australia Constitution Act 1901. Section 9 of this Act is headed ‘Constitution’ and contains eight chapters and 128 sections that make up the Australian Constitution.

What is the Commonwealth of Australia’s Constitution?

Who wrote our Constitution?

How do we change the Commonwealth of Australia’s Constitution?

How does our Constitution affect our lives?


Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.