Sign In

Western Australian Constitution

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

Western Australia was proclaimed as a British colony on 18 June 1829.  The Governor was the most powerful man in the colony and he and nominated officials could make laws on any matter, subject to the British Parliament’s authority.

Representative government was attained in 1870 when 12 members were elected to the Legislative Council of Western Australia.

In 1889, the Council passed The Western Australian Constitution Act, setting up a parliament with full powers to make laws for the “peace, order and good government” of the State.

Although the Act was created here, it was made law in Britain.  Governor William Robinson proclaimed it on 21 October 1890.  Apart from some very limited residual British authority, the State was now legally and constitutionally an independent and autonomous political entity.

What is the Western Australian Constitution?

How do we Change the Western Australian Constitution?




Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.