Sign In

1. The Democratic Tradition

Text Size a a a Print Print this page

 The word 'democracy' is derived from ancient Greek and means, literally, 'rule by the people'. The system of State government in Western Australia is parliamentary democracy broadly based on the British Westminster model. There are three arms of government; the Parliament (the legislature), the Executive, and the Judiciary.  Under this system the people of the State elect the legislature (the Members of Parliament) and from them an Executive (the Ministry) is formed. The Executive is responsible for proposing, implementing and administering the laws passed by Parliament and is accountable to the Parliament for it actions.  Ours is, therefore, a democratic system because government derives its authority from the people through an elected Parliament.

Acknowledgement of Country

The Government of Western Australia acknowledges the traditional custodians throughout Western Australia and their continuing connection to the land, waters and community. We pay our respects to all members of the Aboriginal communities and their cultures; and to Elders both past and present.